Beef and Broccoli

So this recipe had MANY variations online that I saw. Many of them included oyster sauce, which in reality, I wasn’t too sure of. I know I can find it, but how does it smell when I open the bottle? What if I drop the bottle, how gross will my kitchen smell? Would I ever be able to serve this to a friend of ours who’s allergic to shellfish? (I probably know I could to that last one, but I didn’t want to take the chance since we don’t have an endless supply of epi-pens on hand).

We absolutely loved this dish. In fact, I even made a comment to the hubby that this was the first time we ever finished the entire meal from the crockpot that first night. We had no leftovers at all and I was excited to make this again! I also was excited to see how many interests I sparked on Facebook after posting the picture, I guess it’s something different!

This recipe is a combination of all the ones I saw online, plus a few “tweaks” to suit ease for me.

Beef and Broccoli

1 pound of beef london broil or chuck roast
1 cup beef broth
1/2 cup soy sauce
1/3 cup brown sugar
1 tbsp vegetable oil or sesame oil
3 garlic gloves minced, or 1tbsp crush garilc
2 tbsp cornstarch
Fresh or frozen broccoli (as much as you’d desire)
2 tbsp all-purpose flour (if needed)
Hot cooked rice (optional)

Here’s what you’ll need (sans flour). The steak I used was London Broil (it was whatever was frozen in my freezer -it was partially defrosted). Ignore the bottle of the Bakon Vodka in the background.

Slice the beef fairly thin but not too thin, maybe about 1/2 and inch. Like I said previously, my meat was still slightly frozen, which I wanted. It was easier to slice.

Next, mix broth, soy sauce, brown sugar, oil, and garlic together.

Place the beef in the crockpot and cover with wet mixture. Cook on low 6-8 hours.

In a cup (I used a mug), mix some of the warm/hot liquid mixture from the crockpot with the corstarch until smooth. Pour cornstarch mixture into the crockpot with the beef and mix to combine.

Add the broccoli and stir.

Cover and cook on high for an additional 30 minutes (for the sauce to boil to thicken with the cornstarch).

If after the 30 minutes and the sauce has not thickened (like mine), add the 2 tbsp of all-purpose flour to thicken it up, sprinkle it in and continuously mix until you see it thicken.

Stir and enjoy! I served it over rice here.

Trust me, you’re going to love it. I enjoyed it more than if I got it from a take-out place.

I remember tasting the wet mixture briefly before pouring it over the beef in the crockpot and said that it was one pretty awesome sauce. I could probably do the same for chicken…I’ll try it soon.

Enjoy!

-crock on!

PS -I promise to figure out what’s going on with my camera soon, the pictures aren’t coming out as crisp as I’d like.

Leave a Reply

